Checking out the competition

I have a long flight coming up, so I loaded up my Kindle with some light reading.

As an experiment, I downloaded eBooks from three new (to me) authors, all listed on Amazon’s Top 100 Free list.  Speculative fiction of various sorts. They are all first books of various series, so I suspect I’ll end up buying the later books, if I like the first ones. Or maybe not, guess that’s part of the experiment too.

We’ll see just how good an eBook has to be to make a Top 100 list, even if it is the free list. I do a lot of beta reading for fellow writers, so this will help me calibrate my editing.

And of course I’d like to calibrate my own writing too.

Stay tuned.

CR Hodges

This entry was posted in eBook, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Checking out the competition

  1. crhodges says:

    OK, I read all three opening paragraphs last night, just to see how these writers did on the most important five sentences. One was outstanding in every way, one was a textbook example about why too many adjectives is a bad thing, and one was just ok, not bad enough to put it down yet not much of a hook.

    More to come.

  2. Pingback: Writers read | CR Hodges, Author

  3. Pingback: Checking out the competition: Part Two | CR Hodges, Author

Leave a Reply

