The Chollima is back

As many of you know, I’ve been busy compacting my shoebox novel, Gho, into a novella. Which meant I had to shed 2/3 of the words, 2/3 of the plot lines, 2/3 of the character.  Tough to kill all those darlings, but I’ve been ruthless.  Done with draft 2 and I’m hovering  at 24K words, down from over 90K.

But I just can’t bear to eliminate the Chollima.

Nikor / CC-BY-SA-3.0

Nikor / CC-BY-SA-3.0

I tried to delete it, but the story just seemed a little pale without a red, scaly, winged, fire-breathing horse.  And did I mention its North Korean? But it’s also kinda tough to let such a being play a bit role–the Chollima (there is only one) pretty much dominates any scene it is in. And you can’t hint about it and then have it never show up.

But today I figured out a way to have my Chollima and a lean story too. Its time on stage is very limited, but when it does show up, well, there is fire. So its back.

Only 8 rounds of edits to go.  Who knows, it may still be a murdered darling.  But not today.

CR Hodges

This entry was posted in Fantasy, Gho, Paranormal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

